Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Debating Success

2013 has been a landmark year for debating at Caboolture SHS.  For the first time in a long time, we have fielded teams in the Years 8, 9 and 10 Queensland Debating Union’s school competition.
The teams are as follows:
Year 8: (Coached by Mrs Rebecca Smith) Ruth Jarrett, Chloe Platt, Zoey Langbien, Leon Manuel.
 Year 9: (Coached by Ms Clare Hurrey) Naomi Marsden, Rachel Neal, Alex Rios, Jasmin Jensen. 
Year 10: (Coached by Mrs Jayne Hooper) Shazura Lawrence, Jetta Ferguson-Male, Abigail James, Shannai Johnston and Harry Pryor.
It’s great to see boys join in!
The Year 9 team battled strongly, and were challenged with a sharp learning curve, debating experienced teams.  While they did not make the finals, they showed significant improvement over the course of the competition and should be congratulated wholeheartedly for their efforts.
The Year 8 team won three out of their four debates, excelling in the short preparation debate, where they had one hour to prepare and present three coherent and logical arguments.  Their efforts resulted in them earning a place in the final series – a magnificent effort.  Unfortunately, their first round final debate is scheduled for 24 July, opening night of the school musical – Disco Inferno.  With three team members also involved in the musical, it means they will be burning their way across the stage, instead of being in the debating arena.  Nevertheless, it was a spectacular start and there is a promising future for our Year 8 debaters.
The Year 10 team, joined by the very capable Harry Pryor, remained undefeated in the Preliminary rounds for the third year in a row and will once again proceed to the finals.  This experienced and talented team have a bye in the first round of finals and will debate on 31 July with the topic; “That we should ban negative political advertising”.  We wish the team all the best for their finals.  Watch this spot for more news on how the team progressed!
Finally, I would like to take the time to thank all coaches, debaters, parents and supporters for the time, effort and dedication displayed in 2013.  Caboolture SHS has always had a fine reputation in the debating arena and I hope you are proud of the part you played in continuing and furthering that reputation.
Jayne Hooper
Debating Coordinator