Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Year 9 News

​Emerald Trophy recipients Beau Kobelt and Rebecca Smith are as proud as punch!
I trust our year 9s enjoyed a wonderful Christmas break and are ready for a fantastic schooling year! 2013 has kicked off with our cohort making a smooth transition from year 8 to year 9. It has been a pleasure to see our well established students supporting the new students who have joined Caboolture State High School this year. I would like to thank the cohort for this and extend a special welcome to our new year 9s!
Whilst 2013 is set to present the 9s with a myriad of opportunities and experiences, it would be remiss of me not to mention that 2012 concluded with a celebration of success at the annual Year 8 Special Assembly. At this event, a great many students were acknowledged for their fine efforts as model citizens of our school community.
At the assembly, each housegroup awarded one student with the class PRIDE medallion. The worthy very recipients were: Matthew Bautista, Angela McCasker, Samuel Nutt, Lachlan Atta-Singh, Rachel Magner, Shannon Gehrke, Sarah Reid, Sophie Scott and Brittney Hodgson. Over the course of 2012, 36 hard-working students earned Emerald Award certificates which were presented on a weekly basis. Of this group, the two most outstanding students - Beau Kobelt and Rebecca Smith - received our most prestigious Emerald Award; the Emerald Trophy at our special assembly. Congratulations students!
A big thank you goes to the parents and care-givers of all these students – it was wonderful that you were able to attend the assembly and witness our 9s receive their medallions and trophies.
Another important assembly was held on Tuesday the 19th of February at which we announced our Housegroup Captains and Student Council Representatives for 2013. They are: Matthew Bautista and Nikita Tierney (9B1), Callum Young and Jasmine Pocock (9B2), Samuel Nutt and Lacey Hill (9F1), Lachlan Atta-Singh and Courtney Bourke (9F2), Beau Kobelt and Brooke Springall (9M1), Shannon Gehrke, Zoe Vines and Sabrina Savill (9M2), Blake Hobson and Bree Parker (9M3), Kohen Bennedick and Steele Ford (9S1) and Demain Hill and Chelsea Emblen (9S2).
Our Housegroup Captains are responsible for collecting class roles through the week, reading student notices in the morning, thanking guest speakers at school functions, contributing to student council and putting the “spotlight” on Caboolture State High School’s Respect Rules at our weekly assemblies. I would like to congratulate and thank these students leaders, in advance, for their work in this important role.
Congratulations must also go to our Student Council Representatives. Of nineteen nominees, seven students were shortlisted but the three students who have been selected to represent the year 9 cohort at Student Council are Lacey Hill (9F1), Callum Young (9B2) and Steele Ford (9S1). These students will have a significant role as leaders in our school and I encourage them to take on the opportunity and challenge that this position offers them. I am certain they will make our cohort proud!
Dee Stephenson
Year 9 Coordinator